Sparkle

Domestic Dabbling

DIY Custom Drawer Liner May 18, 2010

Filed under: DIY,Home — Jessa @ Sparkle @ 11:16 am

Bathroom drawers can get really gross, and they aren’t that easy to clean.  I had three criteria for the perfect drawer liner: removable for cleaning, water resistant and stylish.  So after looking at my drawer liner options at home improvement stores and Target, finding nothing, I decided that I need to make my own.

Before:

P1000243

Some of the drawers (there are 10 in this old vanity) had no liner, and some had this red and white grid contact paper, reminiscent of 1986.

So I gathered my supplies.

P1000235

1. Clear contact paper

2. Wrapping paper – the higher quality (thicker), the better

3. Craft knife

4. Ruler

5. Self-healing mat (not shown)

After measuring and re-measuring my drawers, I cut the wrapping paper and then placed it in the drawer to make sure it fit…then I cut it again so that it did fit.

P1000238

I then cut the contact paper so that it overlapped at least two inches on each side of the wrapping paper.  Then I placed the wrapping paper face down in the center of the contact paper, making sure that it was smooth and there were no air bubbles.  I cut squares from the contact paper on each corner and then folded the contact paper over.

P1000240

After:

P1000242

Super easy! And they can be taken out and wiped down.

Sadly, I’m not truly in love with this wrapping paper. It works for now, but I found some that I really *heart* here and here.

 

One Response to “DIY Custom Drawer Liner”

  1. smellanie Says:

    That is such a cool idea!


Leave a Reply

